top of page

Saving the Rainforests

The countries that are home to the three major rainforests in the world have agreed to join forces to protect the endangered habitats. The countries created a seven point plan to save the rainforests that was announced at the Three Basins summit in the Congo Republic. The summit was created to bring together political leaders, scientists, environmentalists, and financial experts to strengthen forest preservation efforts in the Congo basin, the Amazon, and Southeast Asia. The rainforests in these areas house two thirds of the biodiversity on Earth, and their destruction will contribute to climate change and global warming. Now, the countries involved will sustainably manage and restore rainforests, create forest-related jobs, cut deforestation rates, and continue to cooperate with one another.

Image via Three Basins

Read other stories from the 11/6/23 newsletter:


bottom of page